top of page

These Are The Champions

Every member of the Manitoba Legislature is provided with a couple of days in each session to stand and recognize leaders in their respective communities. This is something I take seriously.

On May 16th I was given the opportunity to recognize our community members, and I choose our very own St. James Canucks on their second Championship season.

The St. James Canucks have consistently demonstrated their teamwork, determination, and resilience, which lead them to a historic run and a second consecutive championship. The Team has shown great integrity, respect, and fair play on and off the ice, which made them role models for young hockey players in our community. The support of the fans, families, and volunteers has been instrumental in the success of the St. James Canucks.

Some of the milestones achieved by the team include:

  • Capturing their second straight Championship sweeping the St. Vital Victorias last month.

  • Defenceman Rory Neill playing 114 games over 2 years with 88 goals and 194 points to be named MVP for the 2022-23 season.

  • Forward Tyrone Willan winning the scoring title in 2022-23 with 91 points.

  • Captain Kale Price who has 63 goals and 159 points over his 87 regular season games and 15 goals and 48 points in 27 playoff games (of those 15 goals, 6 were game winners).

  • Defenceman Brady Whitely who has racked up 124 points in 103 games.

  • Goaltender Noah Gilbert who in the last 2 seasons as a .912 save percentage and 2.53 goals against average.

  • Head Coach Blair Mooney picked up his 200th win with the team and since his takeover, the team has won 2 championships and had 3 finals appearances.

Congratulations gentlemen and thank you for representing our community so well.


bottom of page